…and what shall I burl?

100_0085.JPG

100_0755.JPG

I found this Birch burl out in the woods just waiting to become a piece of wood art. After cutting and bringing it in last week, I spent much of Saturday at work on debarking the trunk. Now comes the thinking and looking process to see what lies inside this burl waiting to come out. For now I will cover the top and bottem with glue to slow down the drying so as not to get checking and then I'll let this trunk sit while I decide just how to cut it.

As you may have noticed I am also being joined by one of our cats, his name is Summer Beam. The colors here almost make the cat, tree trunk and bark blend into one as they each pass the time of day in their own way. Summer Beam is truly a barn cat as he prefers hanging out in the barn with me and while I work he stalks around waiting to chase whatever comes his way.

~ by frank on April 6, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
