….oak wood art!

I thought I would leave off posting today about “Desideria” and show a picture of this piece of oak which I saved from the firewood pile.

I wonder as to which piece of wood here your eye is drawn to, the free form standing oak or the top of spalted maple? Actually I was at one time seriously working on the spalted maple to make into a table top when the piece developed a large split. Since then I keep the wood around for use as a display table for smaller pieces of wood art until I figure out what to do next about stabilizing the wood where it cracked.

The oak piece has been highly sanded and I filled a few splits in the wood with a two part polymer which I tinted to the color shade of red. My finish of choice was tung oil which I have hand rubbed to a satin sheen.

~ by frank on November 20, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
