….”The Mouth”

I found this piece in the spring of 2004 out in our woods as already down and starting to go the way of punky rotten, so I knew at first sight there was yet to be, art to behold.

Early in the spring of 2006, I started debarking and let the sun cure the wood some more while also developing a nice character in the wood. Towards the latter part of August, I cut the ends off, as this section was close to the middle of the timber and seemed to speak to me from that part. Yes I know, wood speaks and I listen, so what does that make me and after all ‘crazy’ is only a term used for one who does not fit in with the opinions of the many. And so the wood spoke and I listened as it told me who it was to be, ….’the mouth’. Not that I’m meaning any disrespect here, but I have come across some people who are ‘the mouth’, you never see anything beyond that, they are ‘the mouth’.

 

~ by frank on November 25, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
