“Walnuts in a Half-Shell”

 Walnuts in a Half-Shell

I did this one recently, as I am trying out the coloring of some of my ‘wood art’ pieces more and more with colored pencils. So far I am pleased by what is coming forth and so I am now planning on doing a larger sculptured piece in the near future. This larger sculpture will be in ‘free-form’ and I will use colored pencils to highlight and detail the character of the wood.

The exterior of this ‘wood button’ has been burnished to a high polish with a brass wire brush and there is no finish on the outside of the wood,

….and another closer up.

Here is another picture of the inside of the ‘wood button’, again you can see where I have carved out of the wood what I call walnuts. The walnuts are colored using colored pencils and then the inside has been finished using multiple coats of shellac.

 

~ by frank on March 11, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
