Providere’s Legs

 

Riving Some Legs

And so earlier this week, I came to the understanding that it was now time to get the legs for Providere into ‘the process’.

I was able to find a nice piece of oak, that had been cut last spring and was sitting outside doing drying time in front of my shop. Using froe and mallet I rived this piece of oak and was able to get four nice pieces of wood that I will use for the legs of the table. After riving the wood I then proceeded to clean the wood up with a timber slick and 1” timber framing socket chisel. After letting the wood sit in the barn a few days, I will next start shaping and forming the legs with a drawknife.

~ by frank on April 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
