“Greene and Greene meet Rustic Barn Boards”

 

Greene and Greene meet Rustic Barn Boards
….well, here we go!

After much thinking about this project, I decided to use some old barn boards that I had salvaged seven years ago off the side of an old barn. When I say old barn, well this barn was built in the late 1700’s, so go and figure what year to date the boards at. Anyway my favorite barns are English Barns and so these boards have a touch of ‘ye old English’ in them and plenty of ground in character.

I do admire Greene and Greene furniture….however that’s not what I build, so I had to think about this one and what I could do with a Thorsen Side Table design. The top is five year old pine that has sat and weathered with age, to which I used hemlock for the legs and such, while also riving some birch and throwing that in also. All joint work has been done by using mortise and tenon joinery, which has been done by drill, hand and chisel.

I debated about how to finish but have chosen to go with tung oil, while at first I thought I might not do anything to the barn boards, but in the end I also finished them with tung oil.

 

~ by frank on August 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
