Imagination and Maple Wood

Imagination and Maple Wood

So I’m posting some more photos of this piece of maple that I will soon be cutting….slabbing with a chainsaw mill. I have already done much of the preliminary work with a 36” chain bar on a Husqvarna 395xp and so will soon be changing over to a chainsaw mill. I will be posting more pictures of the lumber mill and the process that takes place, as I turn these two pieces of maple into workable slabs for furniture. This piece of maple is running about 38”-44” across, so I am looking to get some nice wide slabs with plenty of character.

One might wonder what imagination has to do with slabbing some maple, and so I will just add that when I start cutting into the maple crown, I need to already have an image in my mind of what is there in the wood. This is where imagination comes into active woodworking, since when I have the vision which imagination supplies, I can then//now go forward with clearness of seeing as to my ‘wood art’.

~ by frank on June 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
